And so Begins the Great Cherry Tree Wars…

It is that time of year again when I arm myself with as many old wives tales as possible and head on outside to with a very large stick to defend the right for the cherries on my tree to mature and ripen into the correct eating age. Last year I didn’t have the heart to do it and let nature run its course. The result was that we ate not a single cherry.

Cherries are a passion of mine. And like peaches, I refuse to purchase them from the shop. I wait patiently and watch the trees bloom and develop and mature. I am addicted to anticipation I think. I cannot stand to eat a shop bought cherry or peach because there is no anticipation what so ever involved with walking into a shop and buying it. For me I need to dream about their maturity. To me the first plucked cherry from the tree is like (I would imagine) a glass of the most expensive champagne.

So last week I hung old CDs in the cherry tree. The theory is that birds don’t like the constant flashing created by the sun hitting the discs. Since I only had a couple of old CDs, I also hung up some plastic bags. This creates annoying noise and constant movement when the wind blows. Really good ideas I thought – then the birds moved in! Just as the cherries were moving from a pink blush to a more embarrassing shade of red.

Today I am trying a different approach. Today I will be tying the plastic bags around the bunches of cherries. So out there I went with an armload of bags to discover that there were a LOT more cherries in the tree than I first suspected!

Oh joy of joys – it looks like I just may be getting my first real taste of cherries this year after all!!

Add to Technorati Favorites

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Barefoot Diary, Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And so Begins the Great Cherry Tree Wars…

  1. Chervil says:

    Aren’t you lucky! Cherries from your own trees. This is wonderful, I hope you did get a good harvest before the birds got them all. I remember eating cherries straight from the tree at home. My own cherry tree, planted only this year, is still too small to bear much fruit – the two cherries that were on the tree vanished over night. I am keen to hear whether the second plastic bag method worked!

Leave a Reply

