BOOK REVIEW: My Pet Chicken Handbook by Lissa Lucas and Traci Torres

My Pet Chicken by Traci Torres and Lissa Lucas

Blurb

The backyard chicken is the new “it” pet—and with good reason: These birds are personable, beautiful, and (mostly) low maintenance. But they’re not without their quirks and sometimes puzzling behaviors.That’s where the experts at MyPetChicken.com have a beak up on the competition—they hear from chicken keepers daily and offer advice about common mistakes and pitfalls that occur when raising a flock of chickens in the backyard. And customers tell them that the advice they most appreciate is actually how not to raise chickens, what not to do, and why not to panic.The handbook helps potential chicken owners decide whether chicken keeping is right for them, how to make the best choices for their situations, how to start planning for the new pets, and—most importantly—how to head off potential trouble before the chicks arrive. Detailed care instructions for baby chicks and mature hens help to ensure a friendly and enjoyable flock. Covering both the good and the “oh no” experiences that beginners and avid backyard farmers experience, topics include choosing coops, planning a daily routine, learning about sanitation practices, and discovering signs of distress. Then the joy of chicken keeping comes full “ovoid” with 50 recipes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, featuring the incredible and versatile egg, from homemade egg noodles and sesame mayonnaise to a vegetable frittata and caramel custard.

*My Book Review*

DISCLAIMER: This book/eBook being reviewed was provided free of charge by NetGalley in return for an honest review.

This book hits the ground running as far as chicken maintenance goes! We are bought into the world of raising chickens – a pastime that becomes way more enjoyable and compulsive than you might first think.

Being a chicken owner myself, I found plenty of advice I probably should have read before purchasing my first few hens. I also found loads of information that was completely new to me – as well as a chicken website I never previously knew existed. (Go to MyPetChicken.com – it’s an AWESOME site!)

The authors of this handbook have plenty to say and manage to get all the information to the reader in an enjoyable way. Never once did I find myself yawning or skipping over bits in a bid to get to more interesting fodder. Even when the subject matter was an area I was fairly well versed in, I still found the writing engaging enough to keep me going.

However, at times I did feel like perhaps there was a little too much information included. While I can understand that the authors are trying to cover all aspects of chicken ownership (it is a handbook after all), there were times when it just felt too much like they were trying to put the fear of god into the reader, especially at the start when they were discussing whether chicken ownership is the right thing for an individual. I find this happens quite often also in non-fiction subjects like organic gardening, it seems like the expert is making a mountain out of a molehill. Chicken rearing, it appears, is the same.

But don’t let this criticism get to you when thinking about selecting this book, since there is so much more to be found between the pages that will enrich your life with chickens.

Overall I am giving My Pet Chicken Handbook by Lissa Lucas and Traci Torres 4 out of 5 stars.

Purchase

AMAZON

Links

GOODREADS | WEBSITE

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BOOK REVIEW: My Pet Chicken Handbook by Lissa Lucas and Traci Torres

  1. I always struggle when they call chickens pets. We end up with so many dogs and cats when people get tired of them and now it seems chickens are meeting the same demise.

Leave a Reply

